no spread in backtesting

Report any bugs with the Tickstory Lite software here. Please give as much detail as possible so the issue can be identified and resolved as soon as possible.
Post Reply
sunny
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 5:45 pm

no spread in backtesting

Post by sunny »

everything is okay except I don't have spread when backtesting.

I have already set 10 points of spread in Mt4 but when backtesting in visual mode I don't see any spread. I have already enabled the "show ask line" option on the chart.
tickstory
Posts: 5167
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:27 am

Re: no spread in backtesting

Post by tickstory »

Hi Sunny,

You can double-check what the actual spread is being used by your EA by inserting the following code:

Code: Select all

      
     // SpreadDivider is used to calculate whether the spread should be divided by 10 to get the "pip" spread
      int spreadDivider = (Digits % 2 == 1) ? 10:1;
      Print("Spread (Ask-Bid): " + DoubleToStr(Ask-Bid));
      Print("Spread (expressed in Points): " + MarketInfo(Symbol(),MODE_SPREAD));
      Print("Spread (Pips): " + DoubleToStr(MarketInfo(Symbol(),MODE_SPREAD) / spreadDivider));
This should tell you whether it's an issue with the spread value or something to do with your display settings.

Hope this helps.
sunny
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 5:45 pm

Re: no spread in backtesting

Post by sunny »

I was able to change my spread in MT4 before, but now I can't. My ea always says zero spread even if I select another spread value.

please help me
tickstory
Posts: 5167
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:27 am

Re: no spread in backtesting

Post by tickstory »

Hi - are you currently on Build 920? If so, could you please try reverting back to 910 as I believe 920 has a few issues.

Thanks.
sunny
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 5:45 pm

Re: no spread in backtesting

Post by sunny »

tickstory wrote:Hi - are you currently on Build 920? If so, could you please try reverting back to 910 as I believe 920 has a few issues.

Thanks.
I'm using build 940
Relative
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2015 11:08 am

Re: no spread in backtesting

Post by Relative »

I have same problem. Build 920 worked well. But build 940 doesn't have spread.
tickstory
Posts: 5167
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:27 am

Re: no spread in backtesting

Post by tickstory »

Hi,

We have confirmed that v1.7.3 is not compatible with the 940 Release. Could you please roll-back to 910 (or Build 920 if it's working for you) and we will advise when a release is available. Further updates about support for Build 940 will be on this thread: http://tickstory.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=766.

For more information about how to roll-back to Build 910, please see this thread:v http://tickstory.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... 876&p=4087

Thanks.
RayShen
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 3:39 pm

Re: no spread in backtesting

Post by RayShen »

my build version is build 940, I have the same issue

Do you fixed this issue on the future?
RayShen
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 3:39 pm

Re: no spread in backtesting

Post by RayShen »

How to rolled back...?
tickstory
Posts: 5167
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:27 am

Re: no spread in backtesting

Post by tickstory »

Hi RayChen - please read the 2 links above as they should answer both your questions. Thanks.
Post Reply